Monday, October 7, 2019

List of Nobel Prize Winners from India: Since 1913 to 2018

Nobel Prizes are recognised as the most prestigious honours for outstanding contributions for humanity awarded in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Peace and Economic Sciences by Swedish and Norwegian institutions.


- The  inscription on the Nobel Peace medal is- “Pro pace et fraternitate gentium,” which means – “For the peace and brotherhood of men.”
- Medals made before 1980 were struck in 23 carat gold, and later from 18 carat green gold plated with a 24 carat gold coating.
- The prize ceremonies take place annually in Stockholm, Sweden (with the exception of the peace prize, which is held in Oslo, Norway).
- Each recipient, or laureate, receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a sum of money that has been decided by the Nobel Foundation.
- The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards the Nobel Prize in Physics, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.
- The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.
- The Swedish Academy grants the Nobel Prize in Literature and the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded not by a Swedish organisation but by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.
- The prize is not awarded posthumously; however, if a person is awarded a prize and dies before receiving it, the prize may still be presented.
- Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive Nobel Prize.
- Mother Teresa is the only Indian woman in the Indian Nobel Laureates list.
- More than three people can’t share a Nobel Prize.
- Nobel Peace Prizes have been awarded since 1901. It was not awarded on 19 occasions: in 1914-1916, 1918, 1923, 1924, 1928, 1932, 1939-1943, 1948, 1955-1956, 1966-1967 and 1972.
- The top five countries with the most Nobel laureates are all western nations – with the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, France and Sweden topping the rankings for the best minds in peace.
- Malala Yousufzai, a Pakistani child education activist, is the youngest person to achieve the Nobel at the age of 17. Earlier it was Sir William Lawrence Bragg at the age of 25 for physics in 1915.
- Marie Curie herself was awarded two Nobel Prizes.  In 1903, she along with Pierre Curie was awarded half the Nobel Prize in Physics. In 1911 she was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian citizen to be awarded the award. Among the total recipients, 12 are Indians – 5 Indian citizens and 7 Indian origins. 

Here is the list of Nobel laureates from India.

* They are are not Indians, but rather Nobel laureates born in British India or laureates who are of Indian origin.

They are Nobel laureates with Indian linkages – foreigners who were born in India, those who are of Indian ancestry and those who were residents in India when they became recipients of the Nobel Prize.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Latest Assam GK

Follow Us

Best GK Books