Sunday, October 13, 2019

Indian States and International Boundaries

India shares international land borders with seven sovereign countries and it is the only country in the Indian subcontinent to share its land borders with every member country of the subcontinent. There are seven land neighbours of India:  Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, China, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan


* India and Bangladesh share fifth longest land border in the world. The length of the border is 4,096 kms.
* Country with longest border line with India: Bangladesh
* Country with smallest border line with India: Afghanistan (Only officially )
* Indian state with longest coastal line: Gujarat
* The state of “Jammu & Kashmir” actually has 3176 km of international border with Pakistan, China and Afghanistan. But, due to border disputes and wars, India lost significant amount of land in Jammu & Kashmir making the International border just 2000 km ( 1474 with Pakistan and over 650 with China).
So, practically, the state of West Bengal which has 2500 km of International border with Bhutan, Bangladesh and Nepal has the longest international border.
* Indian State with maximum international borders: 3 Countries. There are three such states: Sikkim, West Bengal and Arunachal Pradesh

* Jammu and Kashmir (If India’s claim on Gilgit-Baltistan is taken into account) shares boundary with China in north and east, Afghanistan in north and Pakistan in west. 

In this article, we will talk about various Indian states, those share their boundaries with other countries. 

States that share International Borders
Jammu and Kashmir ( Pakistan Occupied Kashmir )
Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Sikkim and West Bengal
Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura and West Bengal
Arunachal Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Sikkim
Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram
Bihar, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and West Bengal
Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab and Rajasthan


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Latest Assam GK

Follow Us

Best GK Books