Saturday, December 7, 2019

Indian Olympic Medal Winners: Since 1900 to 2016

India first participated at the Paris Olympic Games in 1900, with a lone athlete i.e., Norman Pritchard winning two medals- both silver- in athletics: 200 m dash and 200 m hurdles. 

India then sent a team to the 1920 Olympics, comprising four athletes, two wrestlers, and two managers.


* India has so far won 9 gold medals, 7 silver and 12 bronze medals, a total of 28 medals in Olympics Games.
* In 2008, Abhinav Bindra became the first Indian to win an individual gold medal.

* Between 1928 and 1980, Indian hockey team won 8 gold medals (1928, 1932, 1936, 1948, 1952, 1956, 1964, 1980).
* Till now, Sushil Kumar is the only Indian to have won two individual Olympics medals for India after Norman Pritchard.

* Karnam Malleswari was the first women olympic medal winner.
* Saina Nehwal won bronze medal in badminton in Women's singles getting the country's first Olympic medal in badminton.
* Shuttler P. V. Sindhu is the first Indian woman to win a silver medal in Olympics and also the youngest Indian Olympic medallist

* Khashaba Dadasaheb Jadhav was the first individual athlete from independent India to win a medal at the Olympics.

Indian Olympic Medal Winners : Individual Events

Norman PitchardSilver200 m dash1900Paris
Norman PitchardSilver200 m hurdles1900Paris
KD JadhavBronzeWrestling1952Helsinki
Leander PaesBronzeTennis1996Atlanta
Karnam MalleswariBronzeWeightlifting2000Sydney
Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreSilverShooting2004Athens
Abhinav BindraGoldShooting2008Beijing
Sushil KumarBronzeWrestling2008Beijing
Vijender KumarBronzeBoxing2008Beijing
Vijay KumarSilverShooting2012London
Sushil KumarSilverWrestling2012London
Yogeshwar DuttBronzeWrestling2012London
Mary KomBronzeBoxing2012London
Saina NehwalBronzeBadminton2012London
Gagan NarangBronzeShooting2012London
P.V. SindhuSilverBadminton2016Rio de Janeiro
Sakshi MalikBronzeWrestling2016Rio de Janeiro

Indian Olympic Medal Winners: Team Events (Hockey)

1928AmsterdamGoldJaipal SinghNetherlands - Silver
1932Los AngelesGoldLal BokhariUnited States - Silver
1936BerlinGoldDhyanchandGermany - Silver
1948LondonGoldKishan LalGreat Britain - Silver
1952HelsinkiGoldK.D. SinghNetherlands - Silver
1956MelbourneGoldBalbir Singh SrPakistan - Silver
1960RomeSilverLeslie ClaudiusPakistan - Gold
1964TokyoGoldCharanjit SinghPakistan - Silver
1968Mexico CityBronzeGurbux SinghPakistan - Gold
1972MunichBronzeHarmeek SinghWest Germany - Gold
1980MoscowGoldVasudevan BhaskaranSpain - Silver


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Latest Assam GK

Follow Us

Best GK Books