Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Bharat Ratna Award: List of Winners from 1954 to 2019

The Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of India. Introduced in 1954, the Bharat Ratna award is conferred "in recognition of exceptional service/ performance of the highest order", without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex. 


- The award was originally limited to achievements in the arts, literature, science, and public services, but the government expanded the criteria to include "any field of human endeavour" in December 2011.
- The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year. However, in 1999, four individuals were awarded the honour.
- Recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal-leaf–shaped medallion; there is no monetary grant associated with the award.
- Bharat Ratna recipients rank seventh in the Indian order of precedence.
- The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C. V. Raman, who were honoured in 1954.
- In 2014, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, then aged 40, became the youngest recipient; while social reformer Dhondo Keshav Karve was awarded on his 100th birthday.
- Though usually conferred on India-born citizens, the Bharat Ratna has been awarded to one naturalised citizen, Mother Teresa, and to two non-Indians, Pakistan national Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and former South African President Nelson Mandela.

Let us now look at the list of the Bharat Ratna Awardees since 1954 to 2019:

S.No.Name of the AwardeesYear
1Shri C. Rajagopalachari1954
2Dr.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan1954
3Dr.C. V. Raman1954
4Dr.Bhagwan Das1955
5Dr.M Visvesvaraya1955
6Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru1955
7Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant1957
8Dr.Dhondo Keshav Karve1958
9Dr.Bidhan Chandra Roy1961
10Shri.Purushottam Das Tandon1961
11Dr.Rajendra Prasad1962
12Dr.Zakir Husain1962
13Dr.Pandurang Vaman Kane1963
14Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri (posthumous)1966
15Smt.Indira Gandhi1971
16Shri V. V. Giri1975
17Shri K. Kamaraj(posthumous)1976
18Mother Teresa1980
19Shri Acharya Vinoba Bhave1983
20Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan1987
21Shri M. G. Ramachandran1988
22Dr.B. R. Ambedkar1990
23Nelson Mandela1990
24Shri.Rajiv Gandhi (posthumous)1991
25Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (posthumous)1991
26Shri Morarji Desai1991
27Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (posthumous)1992
28Shri J. R. D. Tata1992
29Shri Satyajit Ray1992
30Shri Gulzarilal Nanda1997
31Smt.Aruna Asaf Ali(posthumous)1997
32Dr.A. P. J. Abdul Kalam1997
33Smt.M. S. Subbulakshmi1998
34Shri Chidambaram Subramaniam1998
35Loknayak Jayaprakash Narayan (posthumous)1999
36Professor Amartya Sen1999
37Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (posthumous)1999
38Pandit Ravi Shankar1999
39ShushriLata Mangeshkar2001
40Ustad Bismillah Khan2001
41Pandit Bhimsen Joshi2009
42Professor C. N. R. Rao2014
43Shri Sachin Tendulkar2014
44Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya (posthumous)2015
45Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee2015
46Pranab Mukherjee2019
47Bhupen Hazarika2019
48Nanaji Deshmukh2019


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Latest Assam GK

Follow Us

Best GK Books